US President Donald Trump has announced his latest travel ban, which includes those seeking to enter the country from Venezuela and Chad.

The ban will affect travellers from Chad, Iran, Libya, North Korea, Somalia, Syria, Venezuela and Yemen. In a tweet announcing the extension of the executive order, Trump said: “Making America safe is my number one priority. We will not admit those into our country we cannot safely vet.”

In an official statement by the White House, the order was signed after the Secretary of Homeland Security assessed that the countries included in the ban have “inadequate identity-management protocols, information-sharing practices and risk factors”.

Trump also said that while Iraq’s protocols technically meet the US’s standards, its citizens would be subject to “additional scrutiny” upon entering the country.

The announcement came as his initial controversial ban on travellers from Iran, Libya, Somalia, Sudan, Syria and Yemen expired.

The new ban will go into effect on October 18. 

Subscribe to the BBT Newsletter

Join the Buying Business Travel newsletter for the latest business travel news.

Thank you for signing up!